laughsunshine:

So, I’ve been going through a really rough week. I’ve had some support through a few awesome tumblr followers, but I’m going to talk about something that has occurred for the last month.

My roommate (Angelique) has skipped town to Maine to meet an online girlfriend Anya, leaving my other roommate and I with over $400 in unpaid rent, over $200 in unpaid electric bills, and abandoned her animals. We are really struggling right now to make ends meet and she refuses to contact us (or her family). We have tried getting law enforcement involved (not to prosecute but just to ensure safety), but we cannot do anything until her parents decide to act—which they are refusing to do as well. We are also viewing this as a possible real case of missing persons, because no one has actually spoken to her. Only Anya has spoken to anyone about Angelique. So we’re not immediately jumping to her abandoning us; we are keeping an open mind that perhaps something isn’t quite right with this Anya chick and maybe she actually needs help.

Both my roommate and I attend college full-time. He works part-time at a local drugstore and a military branch. I don’t have a job anymore, but I have enough money saved up to last me until I find another one (shortly I hope!) Even when we were both working, we could not afford to pay for the amount our other roommate contributed. Clayton and I are hard-working, lower class kids. We are also LGBT identified, which makes our lives a tiny more difficult in the long-run; living in North Carolina…being gay isn’t that easy. But we make it work and we work hard for getting where we have gotten. We enjoy our independence.

Angelique hasn’t paid the electric bill for April, May, or June. She hasn’t paid rent for May or June. And it is likely she will not pay for July. Her lease ends July 31st; all we need is a little money to get us by until we can find another roommate to take over her part.

I am placing a donation button on my page and this post (if I can figure it out). I don’t expect anything to come of it, but I would be sure thankful for anything we did receive. I’ll even personally mail everyone  a thank you letter who donates, or something of that nature. I wouldn’t post something like this unless I was down on hope about this situation. I need to be saving my money for my school and for food. Or any information on either of them would be just as valuable. 

Thank you for your patience in reading this. And I hope you have a fantastic day/week/year!

DONATE

Leave a comment